Select Repo Settings

After you’ve created a project, you might want to go in and tweak your Tugboat repo settings. When you go into Repository Settings, you can:

Don’t forget to hit the Save Configuration button after you’ve checked or unchecked boxes to save your changes.

If you later need to change Repository Settings, you can do that anytime; see: Change Repository Settings.

Modify settings for your GitHub, GitLab or Bitbucket Integration

When you’re using the Tugboat integration with GitHub, GitLab or Bitbucket, you’ll see provider-specific settings for each of your Tugboat repos. These settings enable you to do things like automatically create a Preview when a Pull Request or Merge Request is opened, or post a comment to a PR with links to its Preview. For a full list of the provider-specific integration options, check out:

Rebuild Orphaned Previews Automatically

When this option is selected, Tugboat automatically rebuilds Previews when the Base Preview they’re built from is rebuilt. This option is turned off by default.

Rebuild Stale Previews Automatically

When this option is selected, Tugboat automatically rebuilds Previews when the Base Preview they’re built from is refreshed. This option is turned off by default.

To unpack this a little:

  • When you’re using a Base Preview
  • And the Base Preview is refreshed
    (You may manually Refresh a Base Preview, or have Tugboat refresh Base Previews automatically, for example, every day at 12am UTC.)
  • The Base Preview kicks off the build process from the update phase, and runs commands in both update and build
  • When the Base Preview refresh is complete, child Previews kick off a build process from build, using the Base Preview as the starting point and bypassing commands in init and update.

Refresh Base Previews Automatically

By default, Tugboat refreshes your Base Previews every day at 12am UTC. You can de-select this checkbox to turn off automatic refresh, or you can specify your preferred interval and time for the refresh to occur. Automatically refreshing Base Previews is a great way to ensure your large assets, such as databases, stay up-to-date, saving you time when you build a new Preview from a recently-refreshed Base Preview.

Specify Build Timeout

By default, Preview builds timeout at 3600 seconds. You can change the Preview build timeout to your preferred interval.

Modify Environment Variables

Here’s where you can enter environment variables, like API keys or passwords, that you wouldn’t want to store in your repo. If you’re looking for Tugboat’s environment variables to add to your Build Scripts or configuration files, check out Reference -> Environment Variables.

Set up Remote SSH Access

SSH commands that you run from Previews in this repository use the public key in your repo settings. Each of your repositories linked to Tugboat have a unique SSH key. Put this public key on the remote servers that your build scripts or applications need to access.

You can’t SSH into a Tugboat Preview; the SSH key here is all about outbound requests to remote resources. If you want to get into a Tugboat Preview, shell access is provided in both the web interface and the command line tool.

Use the Tugboat SSH key

When you link a git repository to Tugboat, Tugboat automatically generates an SSH key for that repo. You can access this key in Repository Settings; scroll to the Remote SSH Access option. To use the SSH key, simply copy it to your clipboard and put it where you need it!

Copy SSH Key to Clipboard

Tugboat provides a private 4096 bit length RSA SSH key. What you see on the Repository Settings page is the public key from the pair.

If you want Tugboat to generate a new SSH key, press the Generate SSH Key button. You’ll see a dialog box asking you to confirm that you want to generate a new key, as this action can’t be undone.

If you have Tugboat create a new SSH key, this automatically erases the existing SSH key. If you’re using this SSH key anywhere, you’ll need to update that when you generate a new key.

Delete an SSH key

Need to delete or get rid of an SSH key? Go to Repository Settings; scroll to the Remote SSH Access option for the repository whose key you want to delete, and press the Generate SSH Key button. Generating a new key permanently erases the old key.

Authenticate with a Docker Registry

If you want to pull images from Docker registries that require authentication, you can manage your authorization credentials from within the repo settings.

Authenticate with a Docker registry

Delete the Repository

If you want to delete a repo from your Tugboat project, you’ll go into the Repository Settings for that repo and press the Delete Repository button. Deleting a repo from Tugboat does not affect any data in the git provider repo connected to it, nor does it delete the Tugboat project that contains the repo.

Delete repository

Only Admin users have the Delete Repository option. For more on user permissions, see: User permission levels explained.

Change Repository Settings

Any time you need to make a change to Repository Settings:

  1. Go to username -> My Projects at the upper-right of the Tugboat screen.
  2. Select the project where you want to edit repository settings.
  3. Scroll to the linked repository whose settings you want to change, and click the Settings link.

From here, you’ll see all the Repository Settings you can modify. If you make changes to the settings, don’t forget to press the Save Configuration button!