Connect With Your Provider

GitHub

  1. Go to Sign In and select GitHub.
  2. Enter your GitHub Username and Password (or Create an Account), complete Two-Factor Authentication.
  3. Authorize Tugboat.

Once you complete GitHub authorization, you’ll be redirected to the Create a Tugboat Project screen.

Visual Walkthrough

Using the GitHub integration

The GitHub integration gives Tugboat the following features, which you can access in your Project -> Repository Settings:

  • Build Pull Requests automatically On by default; Tugboat automatically creates a Preview when a GitHub pull request is opened.
  • Rebuild updated Pull Requests automatically On by default; Tugboat automatically rebuilds a Preview when the corresponding pull request is updated.
  • Delete Pull Request Previews automatically On by default; Tugboat automatically deletes a Preview when its pull request is merged or closed.
  • Set Pull Request status On by default; Tugboat updates the pull request status to reflect the state of its Preview.
  • Set Pull Request deployment status Off by default; Tugboat adds a deployment update to the pull request when a Preview is built.
  • Post Preview links in Pull Request comments Off by default; Tugboat adds a comment to a pull request with links to its Preview. The comment author is the person who authenticated the git repo to Tugboat; to change this, see: Add a Tugboat Bot to your team.
  • Build Previews for forked Pull Requests Off by default; Tugboat builds Previews for pull requests made to the primary repo from forked repositories. There are security implications from using this setting: any secrets in your Preview will be accessible by the owner of the forked repository. When this feature is not enabled, forked pull requests show as available to build (or will attempt to build automatically if you have Build Pull Requests Automatically enabled) but the Preview build will fail.

You can also specify the account from which comments are posted to GitHub in this section. For info on customizing this, see: Add a Tugboat Bot to your team.

GitLab

  1. Go to Sign In and select GitLab.
  2. Enter your GitLab Username and Password (or Register).
  3. Authorize Tugboat.

Once you complete GitLab authorization, you’ll be redirected to the Create a Tugboat Project screen.

Visual Walkthrough

Using the GitLab integration

The GitLab integration gives your Tugboat the following features, which you can access in your Project -> Repository Settings:

  • Build Merge Requests automatically On by default; Tugboat automatically creates a Preview when a GitLab merge request is opened.
  • Rebuild updated Merge Requests automatically On by default; Tugboat automatically creates a Preview when the corresponding merge request is updated.
  • Delete Merge Request Previews automatically On by default; Tugboat automatically deletes a Preview when its merge request is merged or closed.
  • Set Merge Request build status On by default; Tugboat updates the merge request build status to reflect the state of its Preview.
  • Post Preview links in Merge Request comments

Off by default; Tugboat adds a comment to a merge request with links to its Preview. The comment author is the person who authenticated the git repo to Tugboat; to change this, see: Add a Tugboat Bot to your team. - Build Previews for forked Merge Requests Off by default; Tugboat builds Previews for merge requests made to the primary repo from forked repositories. There are security implications from using this setting: any secrets in your Preview will be accessible by the owner of the forked repository. When this feature is not enabled, forked merge requests show as available to build (or will attempt to build automatically if you have Build Merge Requests Automatically enabled) but the Preview build will fail.

You can also specify the account from which comments are posted to GitLab in this section. For info on customizing this, see: Add a Tugboat Bot to your team.

Bitbucket

  1. Go to Sign In and select Bitbucket.
  2. Enter your Bitbucket Email and Password (or Sign up for an account).
  3. Grant Access to Tugboat.

Once you complete Bitbucket authorization, you’ll be redirected to the Create a Tugboat Project screen.

Visual Walkthrough

Using the Bitbucket integration

The BitBucket integration gives Tugboat the following features, which you can access in your Project -> Repository Settings:

  • Build Pull Requests automatically On by default; Tugboat automatically creates a Preview when a Bitbucket pull request is opened.
  • Rebuild updated Pull Requests automatically On by default; Tugboat automatically rebuilds a Preview when the corresponding pull request is updated.
  • Delete Pull Request Previews automatically On by default; Tugboat automatically deletes a Preview when its pull request is merged or closed.
  • Set Pull Request status On by default; Tugboat updates the pull request status to reflect the state of its Preview.
  • Post Preview links in Pull Request comments Off by default; Tugboat adds a comment to a pull request with links to its Preview. The comment author is the person who authenticated the git repo to Tugboat; to change this, see: Add a Tugboat Bot to your team.
  • Build Previews for forked Pull Requests Off by default; Tugboat builds Previews for pull requests made to the primary repo from forked repositories. There are security implications from using this setting: any secrets in your Preview will be accessible by the owner of the forked repository. When this feature is not enabled, forked pull requests show as available to build (or will attempt to build automatically if you have Build Pull Requests Automatically enabled) but the Preview build will fail.

You can also specify the account from which comments are posted to Bitbucket in this section. For info on customizing this, see: Add a Tugboat Bot to your team.

Generic Git Server

If you’re not using GitHub, GitLab, or Bitbucket, you can use a generic git server with Tugboat. You’ll sign in to Tugboat using an email address, and when you go to add a repo to your Tugboat project, you can link to a Git URL.

If your repo isn’t connected via Tugboat’s GitHub, GitLab, or Bitbucket authentication, you won’t have the integration features to automatically build Previews from Pull Requests, and other related functionality. If you add GitHub, GitLab, or Bitbucket authentication later, you’ll need to delete your generic git server from your project, and add it again to use it.

Need to add a git provider to your Tugboat account? Whether you created your initial Tugboat account with an email and now want to add a git provider, or whether you’re adding your second or third git provider, here’s how to connect your Tugboat account with additional git providers:

  1. Click the User drop-down in the upper right-hand corner of the Tugboat dashboard, and select Profile .
  2. Click the + Connect Account link.
  3. Select the git provider whose account you’d like to connect.
  4. Follow the instructions to connect to GitHub, GitLab or Bitbucket.
Visual Walkthrough